top of page

What makes you jump out of bed?

Dear Future Self,

I hope you find this letter in good spirits. I have been willing to write a letter to you for the longest time but I couldn’t muster up the courage to face the indomitable reality I am currently chained up with. I am in the year 2021 and we have been made to sit with discomfort in the ongoing situation of the global pandemic. I have been feeling an uncanny emotional fatigue for the last two years which doesn’t seem to let go of its claws deeply engraved into the already mourning pieces of my heart. High school didn’t offer the best of it to me and in the guise of not exposing myself to the nerve wrecking emotional turmoil, I kept myself and my heartiest desires under strict monitoring. I was hopeful that if I am able to withstand such a harsh time, I will have better days piled up but now I can’t seem to find any motivation whatsoever.

Gladly I very recently rediscovered my love for yoga, back in middle school do you remember having such fun in the yoga classes, instructing your classmates and getting appreciated by the teacher for your enthusiasm which further fueled it? The pandoras box of my middle school memories still makes me chuckle. Anyway, it has now become a part of my not so routinely followed routine to do yoga in the morning. The slightly chilly morning breeze around 6 am and the endless chirping of birds sets the perfect incense and melody I would need to ease the forever restlessness of my mind and soul. It is what really makes me get out of bed these days, it is my newfound drive which keeps me on my toes and calms my irritability and renders me solace. I keep the last twenty minutes for deep reflection, I try to resonate and keenly listen to the sounds of my immediate environment, I can listen to the strong winds brushing past the trees like a rough stroke of an unskilled hand, the flowing of water from the overhead tank, the smell of marigold and hibiscus mum picks every morning and the vibrations of my own mortal self.

To be truthful I am getting out of bed for you every morning, you are my inspiration, the idea of you which I have envisioned keeps me on my toes, I no longer want you to be someone in the shadows, who is under confident and timid. I am dedicated towards you and I am cultivating the most fruitful habits and pursuing my interests so that you will feel proud about yourself. I am committed to you my future self and I wish nothing else from you but love and gratitude for this eighteen-year-old you I am right now, who despite the odds is trying her level best to give you the life that flashes before your eyes so often. I won’t disappoint you and I want you to remember that I have an unwavering faith in yourself, this depressing time could not crush you so nothing can ever. I got your back.

Yours confused but resilient,

18 y/o self.


bottom of page