top of page

What would you tell your younger self?

Dear younger me,

I hope I’m not too late in writing this letter and I hope that this finds you in a good state of mind on a bright, sunny day. The future is a strangely exciting time. This distance of time and space offers a great deal of perspective on our life and I hope you don’t mind me reaching out to you in this way.


As you grow up, I can assure you that you will meet all sorts of people with interesting stories of their own and you will go through many small and big experiences that will give you a new perspective on life. These experiences might break your spirits at times but trust me when I say that you’ll come out stronger each time.


As you age it so happens that not only you but mostly everyone leave behind the habits that made them happy in their formative years. I request you, please don’t do that. There’s no reason you should ever have to give up harmless things that bring you joy. Finger paint, write mediocre stories and poems, spin in circles until you fall, climb a tree, go to the park, get excited every time the sun comes out. Talk to your grandparents about silly things, make as much conversation with your mom, ask the questions that you think are irrelevant. Jive to the songs and rhymes that you used to hum as a child. Cry, without hesitation every time you feel the need to. Don’t give up on the things that make life worth living. One last piece of advice that I want to give you is, don’t ever be afraid to express yourself. Speak your mind and heart at all times even if it is difficult to do so sometimes.


Cry, laugh, jump, scream. Do all this while you still can and make it a habit. Make the most of the privileges that your childhood offers to you. You got this.

Carpe diem, Carpe noctem.


Love,

Yourself


bottom of page